Edition #3 – Lori Henriques Answers 7 Questions

by | Sep 10, 2021

1. Why are you a musician?

First, I’m a musician thanks to a childhood with my mom who found good piano teachers, took me to weekly lessons, and insisted I practice until I got into it enough to be self-motivated. Thank you, Mom! ❤️ I continue to be a musician because I love the experience of putting in the work and feeling that rush of the result of the work. Both the connection it gives with other humans and the connection within to something beyond.

2. Who are your musical inspirations?

  • Nina Simone
  • Lili Boulanger
  • Nadia Boulanger
  • Maria João Pires
  • Joe Raposo
  • Miles Davis
  • Maurice
  • Ravel J.S. Bach

3. What is your practice routine?

My practice routine is simple: Sit on the bench and do the work. I love finding topics to write about that pique my curiosity. My favorite thing is when the process brings me to tears. Then I know I’ve found something real and moving and good. I also love the process of arranging. Both with writing and arranging, it feels like it exists somewhere in another world, and I just need to listen in to find it.

4. Why did you make this album?

Legion of Peace: Songs Inspired by Nobel Peace Laureates
By Lori Henriques Quintet featuring Joey Alexander with Muhammad Yunus

I made this album because I wanted the challenge and fascination of researching the lives and philosophies of people I deeply admire. Spending hours learning more about what drove these eight Nobel Peace laureates to their phenomenal life accomplishments was one of the most inspiring things I’ve ever committed to. Collaborating with the soulful, highly-skilled musicians on this album was the icing on the cake.

5. What were the biggest obstacles in making this album? How did you overcome?

The biggest obstacle was getting all the tracks ready to release within the time frame we chose. The way I overcame it, putting in a LOT of hours and sleeping very little. Was it worth it? YES. Some projects happen only because we decide we absolutely must push forward and trust that everything will fall into place. I’m so grateful to have written and arranged these songs, made possible by the immediate goal of recording them.

6. Who is featured on the album?

  • Quintet Joey Alexander – piano
  • Eddie Barbash – saxophone
  • Joe Saylor – drums
  • Kabir Sehgal – bass
  • Lori Henriques – vocals


  • Oran Etkin – bass clarinet
  • Pedrito Martinez – percussion
  • Jana Herzen – percussion

    Mixed by Oscar Autie

7. Where may we find you online?

Kabir Sehgal helped produce the project.